Palestine Riddim chants down oppression and hatred with love.

Palestine Riddim
Palestine Riddim

Irie Sounds International in association with Zojak World Wide is pleased to present the release of the long-awaited Palestine Riddim on September 16th.

Produced by Dr. Suess for Irie Sounds International, the riddim is a testament to the sound of live, heavy roots reggae thanks in large part to the additional musicianship of musician Ras Cricket out of Oregon, who played guitar and bass on the track.

“We strive to make quality reggae music that everyone can enjoy that has an organic live feel to it” stated Suess when contacted by 18 Karat Reggae. “The Palestine Riddim really has something for everyone, uniting artists of different styles and eras for the listening audience.”

The tracks on this album include:

1. Warrior King – President Yahya Jammeh

This song is an ode to the president of the Gambia, and was written after Warrior King’s first visit to the African country. He was quoted in the press as saying: ““I was very impressed with how the people love him and how he was very tolerant with Christians and Muslims alike. It was my first time in Africa and it was like I am in Jamaica.”

2. Bugle – Choice Is Yours

Considered to be one of the best modern cultural performers and songwriters, Bugle joins the set this his anthem “Choice Is Yours” which is currently receiving lots of positive feedback. The artist uses this track to remind his listeners that “no one feels your pain like you” while exploring the complexities of life that lead to the decisions we make.

Related Article:   Buju Banton Death Hoax

3. Prezident Brown – Soul Skank

Known over the years as one of reggae music’s top international deejays, Prezident Brown delivers with “Soul Skank” – a lighthearted tribute to the power of soundsystem culture. The gruff-voice singjay instructs the selector to pull up the “riddim track hard like a concrete block” in a lively manner that is sure to have this tune played loudly on many a soundsystem worldwide.

4. Yami Bolo – Jah is in his Kingdom

Roots reggae singer Yami Bolo returns with “Jah Is In His Kingdom” a crucial roots anthem urging society to get rid of violence and focus on the Creator in all things. Yami Bolo is a legend who started out as a child performing with Iconic singer/producer Sugar Minott and to this day carries the torch for consciousness.

5. Rocker-T – Sorrow & Shame

New York born/California based singer/deejay Rocker-T has been a mainstay in the reggae and hip hop scene both in the US and internationally since the late 80’s. First as a member of the Ska-Danks, then as a solo artist with a wide variety of hits like “Tru Ganjaman” and “One More.” On “Sorrow & Shame” T croons a plea for the state of the people before going into heavy deejay verses with ease.

6. Joshua Hales – Calling

An upcoming talent out of Sonoma, California – Joshua Hales has been gaining a reputation for his excellent singing voice and insightful lyrics. Joshua has recorded a number of tracks for the Irie Sounds label over the years and has also collaborated with international artists like Fred Locks, Bugle, Laza Morgan, Dugsy Ranks, Warrior King, Binghi Ghost and more. “Calling” is a serious message tune that is sure to help cement Joshua as a name to remember.

Related Article:   Jamaica continues to lead the world in dance.

7. Taniel – Rude Eyes

The newest artist on the set, Taniel is one of Jamaica’s best rising female artists. “Rude Eyes” finds her having the only love song on the riddim, Her smooth voice and captivating lyrics compliment the melodica that plays through the tune giving the song a unique twist that makes her stand out.

8. Badda Skat – How Can We Divide

Last but not least is Tampa-based deejay Badda Skat, who uses a stripped down version of the riddim to close out the release with a dub poem written from the perspective of someone living through the struggles of day to day life in Occupied Palestine. Skat’s biting lyrical commentary may be controversial, but it truly reflect the spirit of reggae music – the spirit of speaking out against oppression wherever it is found.

The Palestine Riddim comes out on September 16th, 2016 on iTunes, Amazon, Spotify and all other major online stores.



Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 158,549 other subscribers

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.